Centre for Ecotourism and Environmental Education at Bidoup Nui Ba National Park, Vietnam

During their stay in Da Lat, Vietnam, our ambassadors Jeanne and Marie had the chance to meet with Mr. Xuan Nguyen, vice-director of the Centre for Ecotourism and Environmental Education. This Ecocentre is a body of the Bidoup Nui Ba National Park and its main function is to work towards a sustainable tourism by protecting the environment and working with local communities. Mr. Nguyen shared information about the park, the Ecocentre and the work they are achieving.

DSC_0336

DSC_0328

Hopineo: Can you tell us more about the Bidoup Nui Ba National Park?

Xuan Nguyen: The Bidoup Nui Ba National Park, established in 2004, is named after the two highest peaks of the Lang Biang plateau: Bidoup (2,287m) and Nui Ba (2,167m). The park is the fifth largest national park of Vietnam with a total area of 70,038 ha. The particularity of this park resides in its vast fauna and flora. There are almost 2,000 recorded species of vascular plants, and over 441 species of vertebrate animals including many rare animals. The park welcomes around 10,000 visitors per year, most of them being Vietnamese people.

The park offers different tours to discover and learn more about the nature and the species living in the park. They are also the occasion to come across and share the culture of the local ethnic group living in the Lang Biang plateau: the K’Ho people.

Hopineo: And what is the eco-centre?

Xuan Nguyen: In 2011, the Centre for Ecotourism and Environmental Education was established and a Visitor Centre constructed to serve tourists. Via interactive displays at Visitor Centre, the visitors are invited to get a deeper understanding of the ecosystem and environmental issues. They can learn about the linkage and interdependence of human and nature, about the role and use of forests in human life, and about the local people’s culture. The interpretation will help them to understand our activities and the importance of protecting the nature and the environment. We also organise ecotours and specific educational activities for children and students.

The centre is now a major part of the park and everyone is encouraged to visit the Visitor Centre before visiting the park.

DSC_0344DSC_0343

Hopineo: How do you raise awareness among the tourists about the importance of environmental protection in Vietnam?

Xuan Nguyen: Vietnamese people do not realise the danger of their behaviour towards nature. Even the youngest are not aware of it. The Ecocenter is trying to be an instrument of education for everyone, and especially the children.

First of all, we let tourist experience the interpretative tours and make them appreciate the values of culture and nature. Our most valuable partners are the local people who possess great sources of indigenous knowledge. Local guides always lead our organized tours and share their knowledge of the fauna and flora of the park through their daily-rooted stories and legends. The guides always make sure that no rubbish is left behind and such simple activities raise awareness about waste management day by day.

Also, we have tours specified to discover the K’Ho culture and the indigenous community K’Ho Cil. For us, keeping the local cultures intact is also a very important matter for a sustainable tourism. That is why we want to share it with the tourists.
But our main focus is to “target” the young generation. Therefore, with the financial help of the government, we created the “Environmental Educational Program” which allows the students of the nearby schools to visit the centre every year. With this program, each class come at the Eco-centre to learn about the eco-system and how the natural elements work together. We expect the youth to spread the information and spirit of environmental protection to their own family and community.

DSC_0342DSC_0327

Hopineo: How do you finance the Ecocenter and the park?

Xuan Nguyen: As it is a body of the national park, the Government is supporting us. The full-time employees are paid by the government and there is national budget for the educational program and infrastructure. We also received the support of the Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) to help build the Visitor Centre and its interactive displays, which laid the first successful stone to the development of ecotourism and environmental in the park. The German Corporation for International Cooperation GmbH (GIZ) is also supporting the park and the eco-centre through technical projects toward sustainable development.

Last but not least, most of our income comes from the fee charged to visitors joining tours or using our services. Although the amount is just enough to cover maintenance cost and remuneration to the guide, it is yet to make further improvement of the centre. Therefore, the more tourists join our activities, the further environmental education and ecotourism develops, and the better our work becomes.

Hopineo: What motivates you everyday to keep doing your job and work for a better tourism?

Xuan Nguyen: Simply: because of my love for nature and the outdoors, and the importance to keep them safe. I want conserve this beautiful environment for my children, their children and yours.

Thank you Mr. Nguyen for his time and for sharing his passion with us. We had a great time visiting the eco-centre and the park. If you find yourself in Da Lat, do not hesitate to have a look at Bidoup Nui Ba National Park!

DSC_0348

Info: Bidoup National Park and Visitor Center
Address: Da Nhim commune, Lac Duong district, Lam Dong province
Tel: (063) 3747 449
Website: http://bidouptour.com/en/
Mail: bidouptour@gmail.com

No comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Centre for Ecotourism and Environmental Education at Bidoup Nui Ba National Park, Vietnam

Lors de leur passage à Da Lat, au Vietnam, nos ambassadrices Jeanne & Marie ont eu la chance de rencontrer M. Xuan Nguyen, directeur adjoint du Centre d’Ecotourisme et d’Education Environnementale, situé au cœur du Parc National Buidoup Nui Ba, à environ 300km au Nord-Est de Ho-Chi-Minh Ville. Le centre a été créé afin de partager avec les visiteurs le travail accompli pour protéger la biodiversité du parc, et les sensibiliser à la protection de l’environnement. Mr Nguyen a répondu aux questions d’Hopineo sur le parc et les activités du centre.

DSC_0336

DSC_0328

Hopineo: Pouvez-vous nous parler du parc national Bidoup Nui Ba?

Xuan Nguyen: Le parc national Bidoup Nui Ba, établit en 2004, tient son nom des deux point culminants du plateau de Lang Biang : Bidoup (2,287m) et Nui Ba (2,167m). Le parc est le cinquième plus grand parc national vietnamien avec une superficie de 70,038 hectares. La particularité de ce parc réside dans son incroyable faune et flore. Plus de 2,000 espèces de plantes vasculaires sont recensées, ainsi que 441 espèces d’animaux vertébrés, dont de nombreux animaux rares. Le parc accueille environ 10,000 visiteurs par an, dont la grande majorité sont des Vietnamiens.

Le parc propose différentes excursions pour découvrir la nature et en apprendre davantage sur les espèces vivant dans le parc. Les excursions sont aussi l’occasion pour les visiteurs de rencontrer l’ethnie locale vivant sur le plateau de Lang Biang, le peuple K’Ho, et de découvrir leur culture.

Hopineo: A quoi sert le centre d’éco-tourisme?

Xuan Nguyen: Le Centre d’Eco-tourisme et d’Education Environnementale a été ouvert en 2011, en même temps qu’un centre d’accueil pour les touristes. Grâce une exposition interactive, les visiteurs sont amenés à découvrir la richesse de notre écosystème et à comprendre les problèmes environnementaux auxquels nos sommes confrontés. Ils peuvent ainsi comprendre le lien d’interdépendance existant entre l’Homme et la nature, le rôle majeur des forêts pour les humains, et découvrir la culture du peuple K’Ho. Cet espace permet aussi aux visiteurs d’en savoir plus sur nos activités et sur l’importance de protéger notre environnement et la nature qui nous entoure. Nous organisons aussi des visites et des activités pédagogiques ciblées pour les enfants et étudiants.

Le centre est devenu essentiel au parc et tous les visiteurs sont encouragés à s’y rendre avant de visiter le parc.

DSC_0344DSC_0343

Hopineo: Comment faites-vous pour sensibiliser les touristes à la protection environnementale au Vietnam ?

Xuan Nguyen: Les vietnamiens ne réalisent absolument pas le danger de leur comportement face à la nature. Même les plus jeunes n’en sont pas conscient. Le centre essaye donc d’être un instrument d’éducation pour tous, et notamment pour les enfants.

Tout d’abord, on souhaite que les visiteurs expérimentent les visites interactives et prennent le temps de réaliser l’importance de la culture et de la nature. Nos partenaires les plus précieux sont les locaux en ce qu’ils ont accès à un savoir ancestral. Les excursions sont toujours menées par des guides locaux, qui partagent ainsi leurs connaissances de la faune et la flore du parc à travers les histoires et légendes de leur peuple. Les guides contribuent à la sensibilisation des visiteurs et veillent à ce qu’aucun déchet ne soit laissé dans la nature.

Nous proposons aussi des visites guidées pour découvrir la culture du peuple K’Ho et de la communauté indigène K’Ho Cil. Pour construire un tourisme durable, il nous semble de préserver leur culture intacte.

Notre objectif principal reste de sensibiliser les plus jeunes générations. Avec l’aide financière du gouvernement, nous avons créé le programme d’Education Environnementale qui permet aux étudiants dans écoles alentours de venir visiter le centre une fois par an Avec ce programme, toutes les classes viennent au centre pour découvrir le fonctionnement de notre écosystème et de tous ses éléments. Nous souhaitons que ces jeunes puissent partager avec leur famille et leur communauté ce qu’ils apprennent grâce à ce programme, afin de répandre les valeurs de protection de l’environnement.

DSC_0342DSC_0327

Hopineo: Comment sont financés le parc et le centre ?

Xuan Nguyen: Le centre étant partie intégrante du parc national, nous sommes financièrement aidés par le gouvernement. Les salariés à plein temps sont employés par le gouvernement, et ce dernier alloue un budget annuel pour le programme éducationnel et les infrastructures qui y sont liées. Nous avons aussi reçu l’aide de l’Agence de coopération Internationale du Japon pour la construction du centre d’accueil et les expositions interactives, ce qui nous a permis de commencer nos activités d’écotourisme. Un autre de nos partenaires, le GIZ (agence allemande de coopération internationale), nous aide à mettre en place des projets pour le développement durable.

Enfin, la majorité de notre financement vient des entrées au parc payé par les visiteurs, et des visites guidées. Mais si les recettes suffisent pour financer les coûts liés au fonctionnement du parc (entretien, rémunération des guides, etc), elles ne permettent pas pour le moment d’améliorer le centre d’éco-tourisme. Ainsi, pour pouvoir développer davantage nos activités et améliorer notre travail, nous avons besoin d’attirer davantage de visiteurs.

Hopineo: Une dernière question: d’où vient votre motivation pour travailler pour l’environnement et le tourisme durable ?

Xuan Nguyen: Tout simplement du fait que j’aime vivre en extérieur, je suis passionné par la nature et je comprends l’importance de la préserver. Et aussi parce que je souhaite conserver le bel environnement qui nous entoure pour mes enfants, leurs enfants et vos enfants.

Merci à M. Nguyen pour le temps qu’il nous a accordé et pour avoir partagé sa passion avec nous. Nous avons passé un très bon moment au sein du parc et du centre. Si vous avez la chance de passer à Da Lat, n’hésitez pas à vous rendre au parc national Bidoup Nui Ba !

DSC_0348

Info : Bidoup National Park and Visitor Center
Adresse: Da Nhim commune, Lac Duong district, Lam Dong province
Tel : (063) 3747 449
Site internet : http://bidouptour.com/en/
Adresse email : bidouptour@gmail.com

Aucun commentaire

Vous devez être connecté pour laisser un commentaire.